Norwood Scale (Hair Loss Scale)

Norwood Scale (Hair Loss Scale)

What is Hair Loss Scale?

Male type hair loss, which sometimes manifests itself in young ages and sometimes in advanced ages, is the most common type of shedding among men. As with any health problem, early diagnosis is very important in hair damage. In 1975, The Norwood Scale, published by O .tar Norwood, is the most commonly used classification for hair loss in men. more about hair transplant.

Norwood Scale Shows Your Hair Loss Level (hair transplant)

The Norwood Scale, also known as the Hair Loss Scale, has a total of 12 different spill types, although it can classify the spill levels from 1 to 8 degrees. Norwood Scale, as well as determining your level of hair loss; It also gives an idea about what kind of treatment should be applied to your spill. If the hair damage in your hair is progressing, it may be difficult to earn your spilled hair with medication. In such cases, hair transplant is recommended. If your hair loss is just beginning, that’s good news! Take the hair transplant system. The age range of men, to lose their hair is very variable. Hair loss, which starts in adolescence and sometimes continues until the age of 50, can be seen in different types. Some men can spread their hair up to Norwood Scale Type 3 or Type 4 until they are in their 20s, while others are in their 50s.

There are many factors that affect the rate of hair loss in men. Hormones and genetic predispositions are some of them. After puberty, the level of testosterone hormone increases. DHT, associated with an increase in testosterone, is an important component of men with a history of hair lossing in their family. This genetic trend means that the hair follicles’ sensitivity to DHT is increased and this causes the follicles to shrink. As a result, the hair becomes thinner, weaker, and after a few years, the follicles become so small that the hair follicles can no longer grow.

“ The Norwood Scale, which was developed specifically for men and classified different types of hair loss, is still valid today. “

Norwood Scale is Not Enough to Learn Your Hair Loss Level. Doctor Control is Required.

Norwood Scale will give you an idea while learning your hair loss level. However, it is useful to remind you that you still need a professional diagnosis. Nowadays, hair transplant centers do a free examination. In this examination, you will be asked some questions about your genetic background, medical history, eating habits and lifestyle. In addition, the scalp is examined closely to get an idea of the degree of hair loss. The purpose of the diagnosis is to eliminate other possible factors that may affect your hair growth and offer a personalized hair damage treatment. Just as every person’s body reacts differently to the flu, hair lossing is also different.  

Treatment methods will vary according to the level and type of spill. If there is an advanced spill, a hair transplant is recommended.

Therefore, personalized diagnosis and treatment are essential in hair transplant surgery.


Type 2: It is more common in adults and older ages.


Type 2 – A: Spills begin on the hairline on the front.

Type 3: Male is the earliest stage of hair loss.


Type 3 – A: Loss of front hair loss


Type 4: Indicates the onset of hair damage.


Type 4 – A: Hair is shaved across the entire scalp


Type 5: It is the hair loss that is mostly on the forehead (forehead). However, the opening starts on the tops. The bridge between the front and the hill has a distinct hair mass.


Type 5 – A: Hair loss in the anterior and middle scalp. more about hair transplant.


Type 6: The spill is accelerated in the front and hill areas and there is a significant dilution in the so-called bridge


Type 7: The bridge between the front and top zone disappears. The hair is heavily shed.


Type 8: The majority of the hair in the front and top area is spilled. The image of the existing hair is similar to the wreath.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!